Sunday, November 09, 2008

Bob Marshall Award

Friends of Nevada Wilderness Wins the Bob Marshall Award
Award recipients are chosen through a nomination process that considers their contributions to wilderness stewardship, education, research and leadership in use of traditional skills and minimum tools. This is the “official” picture of Pat Bruce and Shaaron Netherton receiving the Bob Marshall Award back in Washington DC. The lady to Shaaron’s' left, Gail Kimbell is the first woman Chief of the Forest Service, behind her in Chris Brown the FS Director of Wilderness & Wild and Scenic Rivers and the other gent is Joel Holtrop, the NF System Deputy Chief.

Special thanks to all of our stewardship volunteers for without you this award would not have been possible. WooHoo Nevada Wilderness!